Avengers (2nd series)


Series Details
Avengers (2nd series)
Publication Date: 
November 1996 to November 1997
Issue Numbering: 

This series was one of four that was handed by Marvel editorial to Jim Lee & Rob Liefeld for relaunch with new #1s. These "reimagined" telling of each character & team was collectively known as Heroes Reborn.

Along with Captain America, this second Avengers series was helmed by Rob Liefeld. However, due to sales, it was given to Jim Lee's team with #7 to finish. Series ended with #13, after which it was canceled and replaced with a relaunched Avengers series, the third of its name.

To explain these titles' place in Marvel continuity, they were bookended by the Onslaught crossover and the Heroes Reborn: the Return event.

Years Published Name of Series Issue Numbering Brief Description
1963 to 1996 Avengers (1st series) #1-402 original series, created by Lee & Kirby
1996 to 1997 Avengers (2nd series) #1-13 Heroes Reborn
1998 to 2004 Avengers (3rd series) #1-84, #500-503 Kurt Busiek series, ended w/ Avengers Disassembled
2010 to 2013 Avengers (4th series) #1-36 Bendis series, Heroic Age
2013 to 2015 Avengers (5th series) #1-44 Jonathan Hickman series
2016 All-New, All-Different Avengers #1-15 Mark Waid series, Civil War II
2017 to 2018 Avengers (6th series) #1-11, #672-690
2018 to 2023 Avengers (7th series) #1-66 Jason Aaron series
Last Updated: 
24th September 2023 by Douglas Mangum