Avengers (3rd series)


Series Details
Avengers (3rd series)
Publication Date: 
February 1998 to December 2004
Issue Numbering: 
#1-84, #500-503

Following the cancelation of the Avengers (2nd series) reimaging title and the Heroes Reborn storyarc, this third series was relaunched by Kurt Busiek & George Pérez.

Series lasted for 88 issues. However, when Brian Michael Bendis took over the series, the issue that would have been #85 was instead a legacy numbered #500. This was only temporary, as he ended the series with #503 at the conclusion of his Avengers Disassembled storyarc and replaced it with New Avengers (1st series).

Annuals / Specials: 

4 annuals, numbered by the years in which they were published. Avengers / Squadron Supreme '98, followed by 1999, 2000 & 2001. Specials included a #0 (1999).

Years Published Name of Series Issue Numbering Brief Description
1963 to 1996 Avengers (1st series) #1-402 original series, created by Lee & Kirby
1996 to 1997 Avengers (2nd series) #1-13 Heroes Reborn
1998 to 2004 Avengers (3rd series) #1-84, #500-503 Kurt Busiek series, ended w/ Avengers Disassembled
2010 to 2013 Avengers (4th series) #1-36 Bendis series, Heroic Age
2013 to 2015 Avengers (5th series) #1-44 Jonathan Hickman series
2016 All-New, All-Different Avengers #1-15 Mark Waid series, Civil War II
2017 to 2018 Avengers (6th series) #1-11, #672-690
2018 to 2023 Avengers (7th series) #1-66 Jason Aaron series
Last Updated: 
24th September 2023 by Douglas Mangum