Iron Man (3rd series)


Series Details
Iron Man (3rd series)
Publication Date: 
February 1998 to December 2004
Issue Numbering: 

Following the end of the Heroes Reborn event and its series, a new Iron Man title relaunched with a new #1, written by Kurt Busiek who wrote the first 25 issues. 

Series ended with #89, which coincideded with Bendis' "Avengers Disassembled" storyline. It was followed by a relauched title, Iron Man (4th series).

Annuals / Specials: 

#1/2 (2000)
4 annuals, mostly named after the years they were published. The first was Iron Man / Captain America Annual '98, followed by Iron Man Annual 1999, Iron Man Annual 2000 & Iron Man Annual 2001.

Years Published Name of Series Issue Numbering Brief Description
1968 to 1996 Iron Man (1st series) #1-332 first ongoing series, continued from Tales of Suspense
1996 to 1997 Iron Man (2nd series) #1-13 Heroes Reborn
1998 to 2004 Iron Man (3rd series) #1-89 Heroes Return, Kurt Busiek
2005 to 2009 Iron Man (4th series) #1-35 Extremis, Civil War, Director of SHIELD
2008 to 2012 Invincible Iron Man (1st series) #1-33, 500-527 Dark Reign, Fear Itself, the Future
2013 to 2014 Iron Man (5th series) #1-28 Kieren Gillen series, AVX, Inhumanity
2015 Superior Iron Man #1-9 Inverted Tony Stark
2015 to 2016 Invincible Iron Man (2nd series) #1-14 1st Bendis series, Riri Williams introduction, Civil War II
2017 to 2018 Invincible Iron Man (3rd series) #1-11, 593-600 2nd Bendis series, Ironheart focus
2018 to 2020 Tony Stark: Iron Man #1-19 Stark Unlimited, questions his humanity
2020 to 2023 Iron Man (6th series) #1-25 War with Korvac over cosmic power

Crossovers/Events/Major Stories:

#7 - Live Kree or Die
#35 - Maximum Security
#49 - 'Nuff Said
#84-89 - Avengers Disassembled


Last Updated: 
9th March 2024 by Douglas Mangum